Pantry Raid I: Indian Sauce and Cornbread Mix

This week I went on a pantry raid and found that I had a jar of Kitchens of India Rich Cashew & Cumin Cooking Sauce and I had a bunch of vegetables that needed cooking. The jar recommended paring with steamed rice (which I already had on hand) and naan bread (which I will be making soon but I haven’t gotten all the ingredients for it yet) so I paired it with sweet corn bread mix (I thought the sweet and spicy would work well together). Here’s what came from it:

IMG_0305

Ingredients:

3 medium carrots

1 large Idaho potato

9 ounces of mushrooms

1 15 ounce can of black beans

1 12.2 oz jar of Kitchens of India Rich Cashew & Cumin Cooking Sauce

6 cups water

Method:

  1. Cut carrots into quarter pieces.

  2. Rinse mushrooms (yes I know many of you will say “omg why?!” but here’s a few cases for rinsing them rather than brushing them (better method of cooking mushrooms and a case study for washing v. brushing mushrooms)

  3. Boil potato (whole) with carrots in water for around 10-15 minutes (I like to use this methodfor checking potato for doneness)

  4. Drop carrots and potato in ice water to stop cooking for about 3 minutes.

  5. After potato has cooled enough to touch use this method to peel potato.

  6. Cube potato into bite size pieces

  7. Drain and rinse black beans.

  8. Heat skillet with 2 table spoons of oil and add carrots, mushrooms, potatos and saute vegetables for 2-3 minutes.

  9. Add jar of Kitchens of India Rich Cashew & Cumin Cooking Sauce and bring to boil then let simmer for around 15 minutes or until carrots and potatoes are desired texture.

And voila, with rice should yield about 6-8 servings.

