African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup

African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup

I found this recipe originally on allrecipes.com when I was looking to make my grocery list. I already had most of the ingredients and it looked pretty delicious. I wasn’t hugely fond of the (very) brief directions the allrecipes version had so I found another version on simplyrecipes.com that had much clearer directions. However, I didn’t realize that the recipes differed and so I kinda just started working from the simplyrecipies version. The only changes I made was I didn’t have chicken (kinda cooking on a budget and chicken wasn’t on sale this week), I didn’t have peanuts so I used PB2 peanut butter powder since I did have this on hand, and I didn’t have fresh cilantro so I used dried (again since that’s what I had on hand.

Review: Turned out great! It’s a little sweeter than I expected (even with out the carrots) so I’d put more spices in next time. Might need a bit more water, like maybe an extra cup. I like a good broth to chunks ratio. I really wish I had real peanuts because a little crunch was all the texture needed. I served it over a platform of long grain white rice and one bowl left me fuuull!

Before...

Before…

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 6-8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons minced fresh ginger root
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • 1 15oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube
  • ¼ cup PB2 peanut butter powder
  • 2 tablespoons creamy peanut butter
  • dried cilantro (garnish)

METHOD

1 Heat the vegetable oil in a large soup pot set over medium-high heat.

2 Sauté the onions in the oil for 3-4 minutes, stirring often. Add the ginger and garlic and sauté another 1-2 minutes, then add the sweet potatoes and stir well to combine.

3 Boil 4 cups of water with one bouillon cube. Boil until cube is completely dissolved.

3 Add chicken broth, crushed tomatoes, peanut butter, peanuts/PB2 powder, coriander and cumin to the vegetables and stir well to combine. Bring to a simmer and taste for salt, adding more if needed. Cover the pot and simmer gently for 90 minutes (check after an hour), or until the sweet potatoes are tender.

4 Adjust the seasonings for salt and cumin, then add plenty of black pepper. Stir in the dried cilantro and serve by itself, or with simple steamed rice.

...after!

…after!


Original recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/African-Sweet-Potato-and-Peanut-Soup/Detail.aspx

Better directions: http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/african_chicken_peanut_stew/

 

3 thoughts on “African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup

    1. S.G. Miller Post author

      It’s super good. Like I said, use real peanuts (the crunch will add a great variety to the texture) and make sure not to forget the black pepper before stewing for 90 minutes. I forgot to taste before simmering and I personally would have preferred it be more spicy/peppery so I’d up the cumin/Cayenne pepper. Also adding the dried cilantro was good to taste but I think it may get lost if you let it simmer in the stew.

      Enjoy and give me feed back! Thanks!

Comments are closed.